Paraplegic Trevor Baucom Adjusts To Life In A Wheelchair

Trevor Baucom had a difficult time in rehab at first, but he eventually became grateful for being alive.

Trevor Baucom had a difficult time in rehab at first, but he eventually became grateful for being alive.

Editor’s Note: 30 year old Trevor Baucom of Clarksville, Tennessee was piloting his Black Hawk helicopter into combat in Afghanistan at 3:00 one morning. His helicopter was the leader of a group made up of an Australian team of Special Forces. This was the last of more than 50 combat missions that Baucom flew for the U.S. Army. Little did he know that his whole world was about to change. Part 3 of a 5 part series.

When Trevor Baucom arrived at Walter Reed Medical Center, after his Black Hawk crashed in Afghanistan, his wife and children were there to meet him. He was mentally okay, even after being told that he had a spinal cord injury and probably would spend the rest of his life in a wheelchair. Baucom explains, “But, after my wife and kids left, I had to cry myself to sleep. It was a horrible time.” His accident had happened on June 21, 2010, but Baucom wasn’t allowed to get out of bed until July 1, 2010.  “I started rehab when I was at Walter Reed Hospital,” Baucom says. “It was very challenging and frustrating for me. I had a couple of really rough days, just trying to learn how to sit up. But, the physical therapist helped me to get through it. After leaving Walter Reed Hospital, I went to physical therapy and rehab in Franklin,Tennessee and got strong. Within 2 or 3 weeks of being there, I could do 40 or 50 dips. While I was at Walter Reed and going through some serious depression, I met a man who didn’t have any arms or any legs, and the whole side of his face was burned. The nurses pushed him around in his wheelchair. However,  this man was always smiling, although he had a brain injury and couldn’t even recognize his children. I thought to myself, ‘I’m not as bad off as he is, and yet he still has a smile on his face. I could be in a lot worse shape. Yet this guy is happy, and I’m depressed.’

Trevor Baucom decided to enjoy his life and his family after his spinal cord injury.

Trevor Baucom decided to enjoy his life and his family after his spinal cord injury.

Seeing that man really helped me to realize how lucky I was. I had all my body parts; I was just paralyzed from the waist down. I decided that I was going to do whatever I could do and learn to enjoy and appreciate every day of the life I now had. I also realized how many things I was putting off. I wanted to spend more time with my family, I wanted to watch my kids grow up, and I wanted to go to their soccer games. I wanted to do all the things I meant to do but never felt like I had the time to do. I didn’t have a plan for the rest of my life, but that was okay. I decided to enjoy each day that I was alive. But, I did decide that I was going to find out what I still could do and then do it.

Next: Paraplegic Trevor Baucom Gains Interest In Firearms

About the Author: For the last 12 years, John E. Phillips of Vestavia, Alabama, has been a professional blogger for major companies, corporations and tourism associations throughout the nation. During his 24 years as Outdoor Editor for “The Birmingham Post-Herald” newspaper, he published more than 7,000 newspaper columns and sold more than 100,000 of his photos to newspapers, magazines and internet sites. He also hosted a radio show that was syndicated at 27 radio stations; created, wrote and sold a syndicated newspaper column that ran in 38 newspapers for more than a decade; and wrote and sold more than 30 books. Learn more at http://www.nighthawkpublications.com<!–

–>

About UroMed Catheters
Headquartered in Suwanee, GA [a suburb of Atlanta], UroMed is one of the nation’s leading providers of single-use catheters, urological and disposable medical supplies, including intermittent catheters, closed system catheters, condom catheters, pediatric catheters and continence care products. UroMed is nationally accredited for Medicare reimbursement and most state Medicaid plans, and partners with private health insurance providers and health plans to provide patients with single-use catheters, catheter kits and incontinence products. UroMed also has seven staffed regional offices located in Boston, MA; Columbia, SC; Jacksonville, FL; Dallas, TX; Carlsbad, CA; Knoxville, TN; Richmond, VA; and Baton Rouge, LA; enabling next-day delivery after a customer’s initial medical supply order. For more information, please visit http://www.uromed.com or call 1-800-841-1233.

Leave a Reply

