Paraplegic Karen Roy’s Busy Yet Wonderful Life as a Social Worker

Karen Roy serves on the board of the Brain Injury Association of Louisiana.

Karen Roy serves on the board of the Brain Injury Association of Louisiana.

Editor’s Note: You’re not beaten until you give up. Although you may not know where you’re going or what you’ll eventually become, as long as you continue to improve and try more than yesterday, good things start happening. Karen Roy from Baton Rouge, Louisiana, has proved that statement. A medical social worker today at Neuro Medical Center/Rehabilitation Hospital, Karen Roy has taken a journey to arrive at this position that demonstrates the courage of an individual and the never-say-never attitude that results in a successful life. Part 5 of a 5 part series.

After I received my master’s degree in social work, I worked with pediatric and geriatric patients. Then I went into hospital and medical social work and focused on counseling and case management.Phillip is an engineer and designs safety systems that prevent chemical and oil plant destruction. Apparently I’ve married a man very much like my father.

[L to R]: UroMed's John Perez; TOURO's Paul Genco; NeuroMed's Karen Roy & LASCI founder Bert Burns

[L to R]: UroMed’s John Perez; TOURO’s Paul Genco; NeuroMed’s Karen Roy & LASCI founder Bert Burns

I work at the hospital with stroke victims, brain injury and spinal injury patients. I definitely think that my being in a wheelchair helps me in my line of work, because I’ve actually done what many of my patients are beginning to learn how to do.

I’ve got a great family; today my children are 18, 14 and 12. One of the problems with having teenagers is that my life at home isn’t very different from work. At the hospital, I’m a troubleshooter. I am the one everyone calls when a patient has a problem. The same thing goes when I am at home with my family. My husband is more passive, so I feel like I’m the main problem solver.

However, every once in a while, he’ll solve the problems. I tell my children, when they want to be tough, “You may be strong, but I’m stronger.” I also say, “I’m not your friend; I’m your mother. You don’t have to like me. I really don’t like you right now, but you’re going to do what I say.”

When someone asks me what’s in the future for me right now, I say, “Tuition.”  I look forward to pay raises in my future, and I hope travel a lot in the future. I love social work, and I plan to do it as long as I can. At some point, I’d like to exercise more. Right now my biggest dream is to get my kids through high school, and then we’ll start thinking about college. I’ve got a great life, a great family and a great job. I’m just taking life as it comes.  

The Roy's recent Christmas card. The happiness is apparent in everyone's eyes!

The Roy’s recent Christmas card. The happiness is apparent in everyone’s eyes!

About the Author: For the last 12 years, John E. Phillips of Vestavia, Alabama, has been a professional blogger for major companies, corporations and tourism associations throughout the nation. During his 24 years as Outdoor Editor for “The Birmingham Post-Herald” newspaper, he published more than 7,000 newspaper columns and sold more than 100,000 of his photos to newspapers, magazines and internet sites. He also hosted a radio show that was syndicated at 27 radio stations; created, wrote and sold a syndicated newspaper column that ran in 38 newspapers for more than a decade; and wrote and sold more than 30 books. Learn more at http://www.nighthawkpublications.com

About UroMed Catheters
Headquartered in Suwanee, GA [a suburb of Atlanta], UroMed is one of the nation’s leading providers of single-use catheters, urological and disposable medical supplies, including intermittent catheters, closed system catheters, condom catheters, pediatric catheters and continence care products. UroMed is nationally accredited for Medicare reimbursement and most state Medicaid plans, and partners with private health insurance providers and health plans to provide patients with single-use catheters, catheter kits and incontinence products. UroMed also has seven staffed regional offices located in Boston, MA; Columbia, SC; Jacksonville, FL; Dallas, TX; Carlsbad, CA; Knoxville, TN; Richmond, VA; and Baton Rouge, LA; enabling next-day delivery after a customer’s initial medical supply order. For more information, please visit http://www.uromed.com or call 1-800-841-1233.

2 Responses to Paraplegic Karen Roy’s Busy Yet Wonderful Life as a Social Worker

  1. Pingback: Paraplegic Karen Roy Meets The Man Of Her Dreams « UroMed Catheter Health Blog

  2. Pingback: Paraplegic Karen Roy Meets The Man Of Her Dreams

Leave a Reply

