Karen Roy’s Difficult First Year Of College Before Her Spinal Cord Injury

Karen Roy with her beautiful family in New Orleans.

Karen Roy with her beautiful family in New Orleans.

Editor’s Note: You’re not beaten until you give up. Although you may not know where you’re going or what you’ll eventually become, as long as you continue to improve and try to be better than you’ve been yesterday, good things start happening. Karen Roy from Baton Rouge, Louisiana, has proved that statement. A medical social worker today at Neuro Medical Center/Rehabilitation Hospital, Karen Roy has taken a journey to arrive at this position that demonstrates the courage of an individual and the never-say-never attitude that results in a successful life. Part 1 of a 5 part series.

Much of my childhood was spent in Marshalltown, Iowa, but most of my life was spent in Louisiana. My mom, dad, little brother and I had a picture perfect family. My dad had an engineering background and sold large valves to chemical companies and oil companies. In Louisiana, the chemical and oil business was and still is a major part of the economy, and supplying this industry with equipment was very lucrative. My dad worked for Fisher Controls, which he said was the Mercedes of the valve industry, and became vice president of this company.

I went to high school in Baton Rouge at a small private school. Although I only had 68 students in my class, I had a lot of friends, because I was a social butterfly and very happy. I fell madly in love at 16 and dated that same boy for 7 years. He was with me when I got shot.

Karen had a picture perfect family and a great life.

All my life, I had wanted to go to Lousiana State University (LSU) even when I lived in Iowa. I wanted to be a psychology major, since I really liked being with people and helping people. I always knew I wanted a course of study that would prepare me for a profession that would help people. I wanted to have interaction with other people as a part of my future.

During my freshman year at LSU, all my friends joined a sorority, but I didn’t. I was still dating my boyfriend from high school, and he didn’t want me to be in a sorority. However, I ended up going through rush, and my first four choices of sororities dropped me. It was devastating. I had a lot of self doubt and insecurities my first year at LSU.

I spent most of my freshman year studying hard and spending time with my boyfriend, who was a lead guitar player in a local band that was popular in the local bars. I had a hard time keeping all the other girls away from him. I’d go watch him play the same songs over and over again, and then I’d take the phone numbers out of his pockets that other girls put there. I had to defend my turf.

Next: Karen Roy’s Tragic Accident That Shaped Her Life’s Work

About the Author: For the last 12 years, John E. Phillips of Vestavia, Alabama, has been a professional blogger for major companies, corporations and tourism associations throughout the nation. During his 24 years as Outdoor Editor for “The Birmingham Post-Herald” newspaper, he published more than 7,000 newspaper columns and sold more than 100,000 of his photos to newspapers, magazines and internet sites. He also hosted a radio show that was syndicated at 27 radio stations; created, wrote and sold a syndicated newspaper column that ran in 38 newspapers for more than a decade; and wrote and sold more than 30 books. Learn more at http://www.nighthawkpublications.com

About UroMed Catheters
Headquartered in Suwanee, GA [a suburb of Atlanta], UroMed is one of the nation’s leading providers of single-use catheters, urological and disposable medical supplies, including intermittent catheters, closed system catheters, condom catheters, pediatric catheters and continence care products. UroMed is nationally accredited for Medicare reimbursement and most state Medicaid plans, and partners with private health insurance providers and health plans to provide patients with single-use catheters, catheter kits and incontinence products. UroMed also has seven staffed regional offices located in Boston, MA; Columbia, SC; Jacksonville, FL; Dallas, TX; Carlsbad, CA; Knoxville, TN; Richmond, VA; and Baton Rouge, LA; enabling next-day delivery after a customer’s initial medical supply order. For more information, please visit http://www.uromed.com or call 1-800-841-1233.

Leave a Reply

