Matt Blaylock: All-Around Star On & Off the Football Field

Editor’s Note: Twenty-one-year-old Matt Blaylock from Canton, Georgia was a strong, healthy, talented, three sport athlete with a college scholarship in his pocket until his accident. Part 1 of a 5 part series.

My senior year in high school I weighed 205 pounds, I was six and a half feet tall, and I played football and basketball for four years and ran track for three years. On the football team, I played strong safety, outside linebacker and running back on offense. I was bench pressing 325 pounds and had made about 100 tackles my senior year. I loved playing linebacker. At running back, I had 400 yards rushing and six touchdowns. During my junior year, I rushed for 720 yards and made six touchdowns. In basketball, I played the number three guard, and on the track team, I was a triple jumper and won the event for the entire county when I was a senior.

Matt Blaylock was a gifted athlete.

Matt Blaylock was a gifted athlete. Photo source.

During my junior year, I started getting letters from colleges, notifying me of their interest and my possibly going to school there and playing football. Some of the colleges that sent me letters included:Vanderbilt, Alabama, Auburn, the U.S. Air Force Academy, Western Michigan and Georgia Southern. My senior year several schools seriously recruited me, including Elon University, Tusculum College, the Citadel, Furman University and the University of West Georgia. Each of these colleges offered me a scholarship to come play football for them. My senior year, I was voted the most athletic in my class, and I had lots of friends at Cherokee High School.

Matt Blaylock was sought after by several schools.

Matt Blaylock shares his story of being sought after by several schools.

I accepted a football scholarship to Tusculum College and planned to major in political science and law. I really wanted to be a lawyer. I had about as bright of a future as a high school senior could have. Everything was going my way, and all I had to do was attend graduation exercises to be on the road to a great future.

To learn more about Matt Blaylock, contact turcotteba@windstream.net, or call, 770-380-1432.

Next: Matt Blaylock’s Tragic Accident

About the Author: For the last 12 years, John E. Phillips of Vestavia, Alabama, has been a professional blogger for major companies, corporations and tourism associations throughout the nation. During his 24 years as Outdoor Editor for “The Birmingham Post-Herald” newspaper, he published more than 7,000 newspaper columns and sold more than 100,000 of his photos to newspapers, magazines and internet sites. He also hosted a radio show that was syndicated at 27 radio stations; created, wrote and sold a syndicated newspaper column that ran in 38 newspapers for more than a decade; and wrote and sold more than 30 books. Learn more at http://www.nighthawkpublications.com

About UroMed Catheters
Headquartered in Suwanee, GA [a suburb of Atlanta], UroMed is one of the nation’s leading providers of single-use catheters, urological and disposable medical supplies, including intermittent catheters, closed system catheters, condom catheters, pediatric catheters and continence care products. UroMed is nationally accredited for Medicare reimbursement and most state Medicaid plans, and partners with private health insurance providers and health plans to provide patients with single-use catheters, catheter kits and incontinence products. UroMed also has seven staffed regional offices located in Boston, MA; Columbia, SC; Jacksonville, FL; Dallas, TX; Carlsbad, CA; Knoxville, TN; Richmond, VA; and Baton Rouge, LA; enabling next-day delivery after a customer’s initial medical supply order. For more information, please visit http://www.uromed.com or call 1-800-841-1233.

Leave a Reply

