Paraplegic Danny Pollock Continues His Dreams as a Race Car Driver

Editor’s Note: 34 year old Danny Pollock from Greencastle, Indiana, was born into a racing family. His grandfather and his dad were both racecar drivers and mechanics. Like others in his family, Pollock always dreamed of having a racecar that would finish first as the checkered flag was waving. As a child, he was always involved in racing with speed and courage. Then when life dealt him an unbelievable blow, and he injured his T5 and T6, resulting in his becoming a paraplegic, he refused to give up his dream of the checkered flag and today drives a Class 410 non-wing Sprint car. Part 2 of a 5 part series.

Danny Pollock behind the wheel of his sprint car.

Danny Pollock behind the wheel of his sprint car.

My dad, my grandpa and my uncle always had racecars and went to the races on the weekend. They started out racing go karts and then moved up to stock cars and ran them on dirt tracks. I also started off racing go karts. Since I didn’t have one, I had to borrow one from someone who would let me take it to the races. I was only able to race every now and then when I was in high school when someone would let me drive his go kart to the races. I really loved the speed and the competition involved in trying to control a go kart that was on the edge. I loved living on the edge of life, and I realized that I could control that go kart going really fast.

After I graduated from high school, my dad, my grandpa and I started to race modified stock cars in the UMP (United Midwestern Promoters). My dad and I were sharing driving responsibilities: he’d drive one weekend, and I’d drive the next. However, eventually, I took over the driver’s seat. We didn’t have enough money to race the entire season that year, and we didn’t have the right car or setup to win, but that first year my dad did a little better than I did in the races. He had a lot more experience than me. We argued quite a bit that first year about who would get to drive. When I was 19, he let me have the full responsibility of driving the racecar.

Our used car had a sheet metal body, and we had bought it from another driver. We realized we’d have to spend a good bit of money to rebuild this car. I was working for the Great Dane Company, milling truck trailers, and taking the money I made at my job and investing it in the racecar. Because I was putting most of the money into the racecar, my dad didn’t have a hard time allowing me to take over the driving responsibilities. Since we were underfunded, I didn’t have good equipment, but even so, we were fairly competitive for the racecar that we had. My best position in a feature race was fifth place. I drove the racecar just about every weekend. We were in the modified class in 1998 and 1999, but we continued to have wrecks, destroy the car and have to fix it up again.

Danny takes on the competition at the track.

Danny takes on the competition at the track.

Then when my little brother, Andrew, who was 6 years younger than me, came along, he wanted to race. We sold our modified racecar and got two go karts to race. This was the first time in our lives that we actually owned our own go karts. However, we were determined to race, regardless of what type of racecar we had. I guess racing was just in our blood. Andrew and I loved to go racing together and raced at our local racetrack, the County Line Race Track. This was Andrew’s first year of racing, so he had to run in the light class and add a lot of lead to his car to meet the weight requirements of the light class. I was too heavy to run the light class, and I ran the medium class for go karts.

Andrew won the championship in the light class. I finally got my weight down, so I could race with him, and I finished second. I also competed in the medium class and finished second there as well.

Just before my accident, we were really into go kart racing, but our dream was to run in the modified class. I’d bought a modified car and was already working on it to get it race ready, just before I had my accident. My plan was to sell the go kart and put the money I got from it into the modified car I was building. I had the chassis well built and most of the parts for the motor I was putting together, just before my accident. I’d work at my regular job through the week, and I’d work on the racecar at night and on the weekends. I had big dreams of one day having a racecar that I could be competitive in–then my accident happened.

For more information about Danny Pollock and his racing, go to www.dannypollock.com.

Next: Racecar Driver And Paraplegic Danny Pollock Never Gives Up

About the Author: For the last 12 years, John E. Phillips of Vestavia, Alabama, has been a professional blogger for major companies, corporations and tourism associations throughout the nation. During his 24 years as Outdoor Editor for “The Birmingham Post-Herald” newspaper, he published more than 7,000 newspaper columns and sold more than 100,000 of his photos to newspapers, magazines and internet sites. He also hosted a radio show that was syndicated at 27 radio stations; created, wrote and sold a syndicated newspaper column that ran in 38 newspapers for more than a decade; and wrote and sold more than 30 books. Learn more at http://www.nighthawkpublications.com

About UroMed Catheters
Headquartered in Suwanee, GA [a suburb of Atlanta], UroMed is one of the nation’s leading providers of single-use catheters, urological and disposable medical supplies, including intermittent catheters, closed system catheters, condom catheters, pediatric catheters and continence care products. UroMed is nationally accredited for Medicare reimbursement and most state Medicaid plans, and partners with private health insurance providers and health plans to provide patients with single-use catheters, catheter kits and incontinence products. UroMed also has seven staffed regional offices located in Boston, MA; Columbia, SC; Jacksonville, FL; Dallas, TX; Carlsbad, CA; Knoxville, TN; Richmond, VA; and Baton Rouge, LA; enabling next-day delivery after a customer’s initial medical supply order. For more information, please visit http://www.uromed.com or call 1-800-841-1233.

One Response to Paraplegic Danny Pollock Continues His Dreams as a Race Car Driver

  1. Lynette says:

    my son was a motocross racer now a Quad. Sorry about your accident.

Leave a Reply

