Christine Kent Faces Terror In Her Own Home

Editor’s Note: Christine Kent stared death in the face and chose not to die. Her unbelievable fight for life, recovery and the building of a new life shows two types of courage that we all need: the courage to face death and the courage to live life, regardless of what type of life we may or may not have. Through her struggles, she shows us all how to be winners. Part 1 of a 5 part series.

Alan had stopped by out of the blue, I hadn’t seen him for three years. He told me that he was in the area and he thought that he’d stop by to say hello. I thought it was rather odd, but he caught me off guard as I was unloading my groceries. I had always considered him to be a nice guy, and I didn’t feel any reason to fear him, so I welcomed him in without any hesitation. I had first met Alan when I worked in a doctor’s office and he had asked me out, but I told him that I was unavailable. I bumped into him a few years later at a home improvement store and we became casual friends, and he helped me with a few small home projects. When he came by my home this particular evening though, he had other plans which I was unaware of. We talked for about 15 minutes, just catching up since we had last seen each other. He then said that he had some pictures he wanted to show me, so he brought in his computer bag, set up his laptop computer and started a slide show for me to watch.

Christine Kent, a successful model, didn't realize how angry she made someone because she turned down a date.

When the final picture of the slide show came up on the screen, and just as I was about to say something to him, Alan said, “Excuse me for a moment. I have to get something.” I kept watching the slide show as Alan walked around the couch and reached into his computer bag. I thought that possibly he had more pictures to show me, and sure enough he did have something to show me – his gun. When I heard Alan cock the hammer on the gun, my heart sank. Terror poured through my veins like the water from a giant dam. This nightmare had started at about 10:00 pm that night. But still I didn’t know that within only a few minutes, I’d be fighting for my life. I asked, “Alan, what are you doing? I’m your friend.” Then he said “Put your head face down on the couch, you’re not going to feel anything, I’m not going to hurt you”.  When he told me for the second time that I wasn’t going to feel anything, I thought he was just going to shoot me in the head  and kill me because he resented me for  never wanting to date him.

In that moment, at the end of the prayer, I got the courage to pull away from Alan’s grip. I turned and looked at him square in the eyes, glanced at the gun in his hand, moved my hand and said,  “Alan, don’t point that gun at me.”

Christine Kent was determined to not let her life end at that moment.

Christine Kent was determined to not let her life end at that moment.

I locked eyes with Alan and never took my eyes off him, not even to blink. I found out later that the reason Alan wanted to kill me was because I never would date him. His plan was to rape and torture me and then murder me. He was miserable with his life, and he wanted me, because he couldn’t have me. I started talking to Alan about God. I knew I had to do something, or I was going to die.

Alan was standing between me and the door. I kept telling him, “God bless you, and whatever you’re thinking about doing, it isn’t right.” As I continued to talk to him about God, I was inching toward my door. Finally, there was a moment when I could run for my door, but then I was afraid to turn my back on Alan, since I didn’t know what he would do. I was fairly sure he was going to shoot me. I thought about kneeing him very hard, but I quickly gave up on that idea, because I was afraid he’d shoot me in the chest. Once I was finally got to the door, I snatched it open, ran as fast as I could and screamed for help as loudly as I could.

Part 2 continues tomorrow in Christine’s words – see how the news reported her story here:

Next: Christine Kent’s Freedom Was Short Lived and Ended with a Bang

About the Author: For the last 12 years, John E. Phillips of Vestavia, Alabama, has been a professional blogger for major companies, corporations and tourism associations throughout the nation. During his 24 years as Outdoor Editor for “The Birmingham Post-Herald” newspaper, he published more than 7,000 newspaper columns and sold more than 100,000 of his photos to newspapers, magazines and internet sites. He also hosted a radio show that was syndicated at 27 radio stations; created, wrote and sold a syndicated newspaper column that ran in 38 newspapers for more than a decade; and wrote and sold more than 30 books. Learn more at http://www.nighthawkpublications.com

About UroMed Catheters
Headquartered in Suwanee, GA [a suburb of Atlanta], UroMed is one of the nation’s leading providers of single-use catheters, urological and disposable medical supplies, including intermittent catheters, closed system catheters, condom catheters, pediatric catheters and continence care products. UroMed is nationally accredited for Medicare reimbursement and most state Medicaid plans, and partners with private health insurance providers and health plans to provide patients with single-use catheters, catheter kits and incontinence products. UroMed also has seven staffed regional offices located in Boston, MA; Columbia, SC; Jacksonville, FL; Dallas, TX; Carlsbad, CA; Knoxville, TN; Richmond, VA; and Baton Rouge, LA; enabling next-day delivery after a customer’s initial medical supply order. For more information, please visit http://www.uromed.com or call 1-800-841-1233.

4 Responses to Christine Kent Faces Terror In Her Own Home

  1. Richie Salidor says:

    I have had the pleasure of knowing Christine for a few years now and she is a remarkable person and I am lucky to have her as a friend.

    • Thanks Richie for your friendship, support, and continued efforts to make our Spinal Cord Injury Support Group such a success with all you do to plan our Fundraisers!

  2. dan doucette says:

    Stay strong and keep moving on. You are a survivor and a WINNER. Dan.

    • Dan you are the most kind man and supporter to Achilles to give of yourself and time so freely helping us with all your volunteering for our Handcycle practices. You always handle me with such care with transfers on and off of the Handcycle, and you make sure all our cycles are running smoothly! You are so wonderful and we all appreciate you so much! We love you!

Leave a Reply

