Paralympic Athlete Bert Burns Sees A Bright Future For LASCI

Editor’s Note: Many people may think that Bert Burns, after having had a successful athletic career, helping to grow a successful business and developing two different methods–LASCI Online and Onsite–to help others, will kick back, retire and take life easy. But Burns has learned that his work ethic and desire to help others doesn’t allow for retirement. We’ve asked Bert Burns what’s in the future for LASCI. Part 3 of a 5 part series.

Bert travels around the country to speak to others with disabilities to let them know that they can do anything they set their minds to.

Bert travels around the country to speak to others with disabilities to let them know that they can do anything they set their minds to.

“I want LASCI to continue to grow and be successful. I want to speak to more people – larger groups especially – and I want more people to know that they can do anything they want to do. I want them to learn that a part of doing what you want can be found in helping others.

My first mission is to help and encourage others with spinal cord injuries like mine. But the message I teach is universal. I believe that the principles of success are as much for able bodied people as they are for those of us in wheelchairs. 

I often work with medical professionals as well. If they can take the encouragement and success principles that I’ve learned and pass them on to their patients, then I can speak to multitudes of people through that one clinician.

In the future I want to prove that the principles we’ve learned from my spinal cord injury are universal principles for entrepreneurs and for individuals who have training for success that they’ve never realized. When people in wheelchairs come to one of my LASCI Onsite talks, I want them to understand that they’ve met someone who’s in the same situation that they are in. Since I’ve made a successful life for myself, they can too.

I want them to see that there’s victory in not giving up, and that the impossible is truly possible. If you’ve been keeping up with Hometown Heroes, then you’ve met some amazing people who had unbelievable, highly successfull lives, even though they’ve experienced life changing injuries.

Bert believes that the impossible is truly possible if you maintain a positive attitude and never give up!

Bert believes that the impossible is truly possible if you maintain a positive attitude and never give up!

None of us can decide for ourselves what or how our lives will be. I became paralyzed when I was in college. At that time, I could have gone home and let the world pass me by. However, we’re only victims if we choose to be. We all have the power to change our lives for the better.

Whether you have a great and successful life depends on the choices you make. Even though you’re in a wheelchair or a bad situation, you can choose to be successful, and in many cases do the impossible, as so many of our Hometown Heroes have demonstrated. Success is a conscious choice, and we can prove it.

The people we’ve featured in Hometown Heroes and on LASCI are only a few of the millions of people in wheelchairs who’ve lead highly successful, happy, rewarding lives. They’ve had to make that choice, that that is the life they want, and not stop trying until they’ve achieved it. The people you’ll see on Hometown Heroes and LASCI are always reaching for greatness, success and financial reward.

Even though Bert was paralyzed, he explored his possibilities and became a gold medal Paralympic athlete.

Even though Bert was paralyzed, he explored his possibilities and became a gold medal Paralympic athlete.

Ever since I’ve been in a wheelchair, opportunities have become greater and greater, as the world is more conscious of us and making many more places accessible to us than we’ve had in the past. Vocational rehab helps pay for schooling for many people in wheelchairs. Through LASCI and Hometown Heroes, we can prove that this is true, especially for people with new injuries.

One of the messages I try and deliver for LASCI Onsite is that life will get better for the newly injured, if they’ll just go out and try and embrace the new world for people who are injured. I believe that life is only going to get better for all of us.

Bert's positive attitude got him far in life--he is a Paralympic gold medalist, successful entrepreneur and loves his beautiful family.

Bert's positive attitude got him far in life--he is a Paralympic gold medalist, successful entrepreneur and loves his beautiful family.

Some of the things I learned from being injured were that I was a pretty fair athlete before my injury, and I never took advantage of my athletic skills. I was a good football player and baseball player in high school. But I didn’t put the time and effort into those sports that’s required to go to the next level and play in college. I’m now convinced that I could have played those sports in college, if I’d just worked harder.

Once I became paralyzed and found sports for wheelchair athletes, I realized that I’d been given a second chance to excel at sports. Since I didn’t want to ruin my second chance, I gave it my best shot. People who saw me in a wheelchair never would have believed I had a chance to excel in sports. I not only looked at my injury as having a second chance to play sports, but more importantly a second chance to excel in sports. That drove me to do the best I could and compete in the Paralympics to win a gold medal. I was a better athlete after my injury than I was before my injury.

About Life After Spinal Cord Injury
Bert Burns became quadriplegic as a result of an automobile accident during his youth. His desire to make a positive difference in the lives of people with disabilities led him to create a free motivational program for peer support and rehabilitation groups called Life After Spinal Cord Injury. Every year, the free, nonprofit program helps thousands of medical professionals, patients, former patients, and family members with information, advice, and encouragement.  LASCI is sponsored by UroMed [ www.uromed.com ], one of the largest urology supply companies in the nation.   To learn more about LASCI, or to invite us to assist your rehabilitation or peer support program, please visit:  http://www.uromed.com/Company/BertsStory

Life After Spinal Cord Injury (LASCI) is a great way for people with spinal cord injuries to connect.

Life After Spinal Cord Injury (LASCI) is a great way for people with spinal cord injuries to connect.

Next: How Bert Burns Started UroMed

About the Author: For the last 12 years, John E. Phillips of Vestavia, Alabama, has been a professional blogger for major companies, corporations and tourism associations throughout the nation. During his 24 years as Outdoor Editor for “The Birmingham Post-Herald” newspaper, he published more than 7,000 newspaper columns and sold more than 100,000 of his photos to newspapers, magazines and internet sites. He also hosted a radio show that was syndicated at 27 radio stations; created, wrote and sold a syndicated newspaper column that ran in 38 newspapers for more than a decade; and wrote and sold more than 30 books. Learn more at http://www.nighthawkpublications.com

About UroMed Catheters
Headquartered in Suwanee, GA [a suburb of Atlanta], UroMed is one of the nation’s leading providers of single-use catheters, urological and disposable medical supplies, including intermittent catheters, closed system catheters, condom catheters, pediatric catheters and continence care products. UroMed is nationally accredited for Medicare reimbursement and most state Medicaid plans, and partners with private health insurance providers and health plans to provide patients with single-use catheters, catheter kits and incontinence products. UroMed also has seven staffed regional offices located in Boston, MA; Columbia, SC; Jacksonville, FL; Dallas, TX; Carlsbad, CA; Knoxville, TN; Richmond, VA; and Baton Rouge, LA; enabling next-day delivery after a customer’s initial medical supply order. For more information, please visit http://www.uromed.com or call 1-800-841-1233.

2 Responses to Paralympic Athlete Bert Burns Sees A Bright Future For LASCI

  1. Pingback: Bert Burns’ Involvement With Onsite LASCI Programs « UroMed Catheter Health Blog

  2. Pingback: London Olympics and Paralympics 2012 - Select a Home Business

Leave a Reply

