The Eternal Significance of Cowboy Boots For Cure Medical’s Bob Yant

Editor’s Note: Bob Yant, the president and owner of Cure Medical, a leading catheter manufacturing company, has personally made a positive impact on the world of spinal cord injuries. He is a Hometown Hero and a great inspiration. This week, we’ll see why he’s such a strong advocate for finding a cure for spinal cord injuries. We will also learn what he and Cure Medical have done to aid in the effort to find a cure for SCI as quickly as possible, along with his plan for the future. Part 1 of a 5-part series.

Bob Yant, founder of Cure Medical and fundraiser for international SCI research

Bob Yant, founder of Cure Medical and fundraiser for international SCI research

Yant: I graduated from the University of California Berkley in 1974 and started a business in San Francisco after graduation with a friend. We remodeled Victorian apartment buildings and sold them. We both received PhDs in sweat equity, even though I had a Bachelor’s degree in Sociology. I discovered that the money I’d make with this degree wouldn’t be exactly what I wanted, so I learned a lot about the business world and developed a strong work ethic from my remodeling business. I applied what I learned from my dad as well. He owned a small, local company selling equipment to electrical contractors. He also had an appliance store where he sold washers, dryers, refrigerators, televisions and more. I learned about customer service and the essentials for running a business from him.

I was raised in northern California, but knew that there was something better out there for me. I had always loved the idea of life in southern California, so I decided to move there and work in the real estate business. I thought it was a great idea because real estate in southern California was booming. I moved to Orange County in 1980 when the county was still developing and growing. I lived in Newport Beach, about 60 miles south of Los Angeles. I moved to the Balboa Peninsula area to be near one of my college friends, but discovered how charming it was. On one side of the peninsula is a sparkling ocean, and on the other side is one of the largest commercial harbors on the west coast. It was absolutely beautiful.

In 1982, I had a few friends come visit me. We were walking along the boardwalk, and I decided that I wanted to take a quick dip in the water. I dove in, thinking it was about six feet deep. I didn’t realize was what used to be six feet of water was now only six inches. On that particular day, the ocean was like a lake. There were no waves–the water just lapped calmly against the shore.

I remember right after I dove, I heard a loud thud. I somehow ended up on my back, lifelessly floating underwater. I could see blurry images of the sun and sky staring back at me through the water. I think I was in shock. I finally tried to move, but I couldn’t. I remember my arms felt very limp like little flippers, but I think that was just a sensory feeling because I could not move any part of my body. Thoughts were racing through my head—“I could drown. I am underwater and I cannot move”.

Suddenly, I heard one of my friends calling my name. I remember I saw the cowboy boots he was wearing coming straight toward me under the water. All I could think about was, “What is happening to me?”

The calm lapping of the waves had caused very shallow sandbars that were not visible. That summer, for about a 30 mile stretch of beach, more people suffered broken necks than ever before. I couldn’t believe one of those people was me.

See more of Bob Yant’s personal journey with SCI:

Next: Bob Yant Lost the Desire to Live

About Cure Medical:  The Cure Commitment is unsurpassed in the industry. Only Cure Medical has committed to donating 10% of net profits to SCI scientific research. Only Cure Medical catheters are DEHP and BPA free. Simply by using new Cure Catheters® or Cure Catheter® Closed Systems for routine intermittent catheterization, you take part in the sustained pursuit of a cure.  Learn more at http://www.curemedical.com.

 About the Author: For the last 12 years, John E. Phillips of Vestavia, Alabama, has been a professional blogger for major companies, corporations and tourism associations throughout the nation. During his 24 years as Outdoor Editor for “The Birmingham Post-Herald” newspaper, he published more than 7,000 newspaper columns and sold more than 100,000 of his photos to newspapers, magazines and internet sites. He also hosted a radio show that was syndicated at 27 radio stations; created, wrote and sold a syndicated newspaper column that ran in 38 newspapers for more than a decade; and wrote and sold more than 30 books. Learn more at http://www.nighthawkpublications.com

About UroMed Catheters
Headquartered in Suwanee, GA [a suburb of Atlanta], UroMed is one of the nation’s leading providers of single-use catheters, urological and disposable medical supplies, including intermittent catheters, closed system catheters, condom catheters, pediatric catheters and continence care products. UroMed is nationally accredited for Medicare reimbursement and most state Medicaid plans, and partners with private health insurance providers and health plans to provide patients with single-use catheters, catheter kits and incontinence products. UroMed also has seven staffed regional offices located in Boston, MA; Columbia, SC; Jacksonville, FL; Dallas, TX; Carlsbad, CA; Knoxville, TN; Richmond, VA; and Baton Rouge, LA; enabling next-day delivery after a customer’s initial medical supply order. For more information, please visit http://www.uromed.com or call 1-800-841-1233.

Leave a Reply

