Misty Blue Foster’s Difficult Early Life Lead to Her Nursing Motivation

Editor’s Note: The race of life is not a 100-yard sprint. Life is a marathon, a long distance run often over treacherous terrain that requires strength, endurance and single-mindedness of purpose. For many, just finishing the course is a major achievement. But others choose to endure the pain and push their bodies and minds to the limits and win. Such is the case of Misty Blue Foster, who at a very young age set her sights on being a nurse, although physically and financially, she appeared to have no way to reach that goal. Part 2 of a 4-part series.

Question: Misty, on Day 1 you told us about attending nursing school and working at the same time. Can you explain some of your earlier background?

Misty underwent several corrective surgeries as a very small child, but that didn't stop her from getting into the Christmas spirit!

Misty underwent several corrective surgeries as a very small child, but that didn't stop her from getting into the Christmas spirit!

Foster: I was kind of a “throw-away” child to the state foster care system. My mom had an alcohol and drug problem and my grandmother also dealt with an alcohol problem. The reason I was disabled at birth was because my mom was on drugs when she was pregnant with me. I had a pelvic closure operation and spinal surgery at age two. My mom didn’t have a proper car seat for me because I had a spica cast that went from my chest down to my ankles.

The type of car seat I needed was supposed to be wide at the bottom to allow my legs and hips to be splayed. It would keep my body in traction. My mom and grandmother loved me very much, but both were not fully able to care for me. My mom could not overcome her addictions and my grandmother wasn’t financially stable and had stage four lung and colon cancer.

This is a reason why I went into foster care. Shortly thereafter, my mom got me out of foster care, but three years later she got arrested. I went back into foster care at age five. My mom passed away shortly after I arrived there, so I never got to go back home again. I went through several homes in foster care, but finally I stayed at a home 14 years in Redwood City, California. That was the worst time of my life.
 
The people in that foster home kept children strictly for the money. They discovered that if they kept a special needs child, they received more money than if they kept children without special needs. They really didn’t care about me. They abused me physically, mentally and emotionally. I suffered almost every type of abuse you could imagine. Their ultimate goal was for the money, not to give me the family I deserved.
 
Legally, I couldn’t leave until I was 18. I knew that if I ran away I’d be a considered a truant and have a criminal record that would prevent me from an acceptance to nursing school. At first, I tried to tell teachers and parents of my friends at school about the abuse at the foster home. The police came several times to the house, but somehow everyone knew when they were coming. My foster parents always made me look presentable and gave the appearance that I was lying. I quit telling people about the abuse because there were always consequences when the police left.
 
It also seemed like no one believed the stories about my abuse. People thought nobody would ever treat another person like that. Since I didn’t show any signs of abuse on the outside, everyone thought I was trying to get attention. There never was a thorough investigation of my case.  When I finally turned 18, I made a plan because I could legally leave and was ready to live the life I deserve.

My foster mother received a big settlement by divorcing her husband, so she went on a cruise to Greece. During those two weeks, I packed my things and had my friends help me move out. I hired a babysitter to take care of the other children in the house. I left and never looked back.

Misty had plans to make a wonderful life for herself once she turned 18.

Misty had plans to make a wonderful life for herself once she turned 18.

I had no money and really nowhere to go. I applied for disability and was denied three times because I could walk and work. Even though I had severe disabilities, I didn’t qualify for any type of financial aid. I got a job in a care home as a caregiver and rented a room. A friend of mine helped me get the job. I made just enough to pay rent and buy food. I took care of and worked with a developmentally disabled adult for almost two years. When I applied for a manager’s job at the care home, I was told I didn’t qualify for it.

I started looking at other options. Ever since I was a child, I wanted to be a nurse. I quit my job and found a nursing assistant’s program that was offered by the county at a discounted rate. I got in!

Around the same time, I met a friend who worked at a retired nuns’ convent. She told me about a job opening there. I got the job as a nursing assistant and worked there two years. I was unlicensed, so I just helped the registered nurses. I did all of the personal care like showering, bathing, lifting, and transferring of the retired nuns. I also fed them. I pretty much did everything except administer medication.

Unfortunately, I had several kidney infections, a lot of back pain and suffered from ulcers due to stress while I worked. I was hospitalized for severe abdominal pain, and the doctors discovered I had gallstones. I had my gallbladder removed, but my Spina Bifida was causing the kidney and back problems. My cloacal exstrophy also made my kidney problems worse by making them very susceptible to infection. I decided it was time for me to continue my education. I enrolled in a two year program to be a licensed nurse.

Misty was glad to work as a nursing assistant, but knew she wanted to further her education.

Misty was glad to work as a nursing assistant, but knew she wanted to further her education.

 Next: Misty Blue Foster Finds Great Joy in Serving Others.

 
About the Author
: For the last 12 years, John E. Phillips of Vestavia, Alabama, has been a professional blogger for major companies, corporations and tourism associations throughout the nation. During his 24 years as Outdoor Editor for “The Birmingham Post-Herald” newspaper, he published more than 7,000 newspaper columns and sold more than 100,000 of his photos to newspapers, magazines and internet sites. He also hosted a radio show that was syndicated at 27 radio stations; created, wrote and sold a syndicated newspaper column that ran in 38 newspapers for more than a decade; and wrote and sold more than 30 books. Learn more at http://www.nighthawkpublications.com

About UroMed Catheters
Headquartered in Suwanee, GA [a suburb of Atlanta], UroMed is one of the nation’s leading providers of single-use catheters, urological and disposable medical supplies, including intermittent catheters, closed system catheters, condom catheters, pediatric catheters and continence care products. UroMed is nationally accredited for Medicare reimbursement and most state Medicaid plans, and partners with private health insurance providers and health plans to provide patients with single-use catheters, catheter kits and incontinence products. UroMed also has seven staffed regional offices located in Boston, MA; Columbia, SC; Jacksonville, FL; Dallas, TX; Carlsbad, CA; Knoxville, TN; Richmond, VA; and Baton Rouge, LA; enabling next-day delivery after a customer’s initial medical supply order. For more information, please visit http://www.uromed.com or call 1-800-841-1233.

7 Responses to Misty Blue Foster’s Difficult Early Life Lead to Her Nursing Motivation

  1. Pingback: Misty Blue Foster: Becoming a Nurse While Overcoming Spina Bifida « UroMed Catheter Health Blog

  2. janed says:

    Deeply touched by her story. She overcame the odds despite her background and those horrible foster parents. May God Bless her and her future.

  3. Pingback: UroMed Hometown Heroes Feature Misty Blue Foster – Part 2 of 5 | mistybluefoster

  4. Sarah Bowman says:

    Thank you so much for sharing! Your story is truly inspirational! I did want to clarify though that cloacal exstrophy is not caused by drug use. My son has CE and is in several studies, and to date they do not know the cause of CE. Thank you for sharing your story and being such an inspiration to so many out there! God bless!

    • MistyBlue says:

      You are correct that there is no definitive exact cause for CE or BE in general. It varies case to case and still is being studied. However, in my case, it was the cause for me specifically. But thank you for your clarification. 🙂 God bless you as well, and thank you. I wish all the best for you and your son!

  5. Pingback: Misty Blue Foster: Becoming a Nurse While Overcoming Spina Bifida

Leave a Reply

