Monica Quimby Wondered Who Would Love Her Now

Editor’s Note: A beautiful, athletic, spunky, full-of-life Monica Quimby wondered, “Who’s going to love a woman in a wheelchair?” after she learned she was paralyzed, but the answer was quick in coming.  Part 2 of a four-part series.

Question: Monica, how did you answer your fear of, “Who’s going to love a young woman in a wheelchair?

Quimby: Actually, I’ve had a better and more genuine love life after the accident than I had before the accident. I met some of the best people. I had amazing experiences and dated both disabled and able-bodied men. I really learned a lot about relationships.

Question: Monica, did you think about how you looked in a wheelchair, since you’d always been athletic and had a very-strong body before the accident?

Quimby: I know for most young women the thought of, “How am I going to look in a wheelchair,” can be a real struggle. But you know, when I look in a mirror, I don’t see myself in a wheelchair. I just feel like I’m sitting down and really short. I’ve never selected clothes thinking how they’ll look in a wheelchair. I’ve never gone on a date and thought, “Is my date really going to see me or my wheelchair?” I decided that my dates would have no choice. They were going to meet me before they met my wheelchair.”

Question: Tell us about the process of overcoming the fear of, “Who’s going to love me?”

Quimby: I was in rehab for 3 months. I learned I could walk very-small distances with long leg braces and a walker, but I decided that walking that way wasn’t really practical. The first person I dated was a guy in a wheelchair. Although I had a boyfriend before the accident, we weren’t really more than just friends. I decided I needed to learn about myself before I started considering a real relationship with anyone.

Monica and Jared cruising along on vacation

Monica and Jared cruising along on vacation

Question: What was going on a date in a wheelchair like the first time?

Quimby: I was just myself, and my date and I had a good time. We talked about things we had in common and everything else. I learned we could be 100% honest with each other. He was a great first transition date after my accident.

Question: How were your experiences of dating people who are not in wheelchairs?

Quimby: Right now, I’m dating my boyfriend Jared, who’s not in a wheelchair, and oh my gosh, he’s fantastic. I’ve learned that whether or not someone I’m dating is in a wheelchair or not doesn’t matter. What matters is the way he treats me, and if he’s a hard worker and willing to help me out. The first quality I look for in a guy is whether he can take care of himself. The second thing is what kind of personality does he have. Those are the two qualities that attract me to a guy.

Question: What was your first date like with Jared?

Quimby: We had a really fun date. We went to play Trivia with his friends, so the date was more or less a kind of group date. We had a dinner date before we went to play Trivia. I thought it was a big deal to meet Jared’s friends on our first date. I’ve learned that being confident in who I am and being outgoing means that people don’t put me in a box and label me as something I’m not.

Next: Monica Quimby Tells Why She Doesn’t See Herself in a Wheelchair

About the Author: For the last 12 years, John E. Phillips of Vestavia, Alabama, has been a professional blogger for major companies, corporations and tourism associations throughout the nation. During his 24 years as Outdoor Editor for “The Birmingham Post-Herald” newspaper, he published more than 7,000 newspaper columns and sold more than 100,000 of his photos to newspapers, magazines and internet sites. He also hosted a radio show that was syndicated at 27 radio stations; created, wrote and sold a syndicated newspaper column that ran in 38 newspapers for more than a decade; and wrote and sold more than 30 books. Learn more at http://www.nighthawkpublications.com

 

About UroMed Catheters
Headquartered in Suwanee, GA [a suburb of Atlanta], UroMed is one of the nation’s leading providers of single-use catheters, urological and disposable medical supplies, including intermittent catheters, closed system catheters, condom catheters, pediatric catheters and continence care products. UroMed is nationally accredited for Medicare reimbursement and most state Medicaid plans, and partners with private health insurance providers and health plans to provide patients with single-use catheters, catheter kits and incontinence products. UroMed also has seven staffed regional offices located in Boston, MA; Columbia, SC; Jacksonville, FL; Dallas, TX; Carlsbad, CA; Knoxville, TN; Richmond, VA; and Baton Rouge, LA; enabling next-day delivery after a customer’s initial medical supply order. For more information, please visit http://www.uromed.com or call 1-800-841-1233.

4 Responses to Monica Quimby Wondered Who Would Love Her Now

  1. Pingback: Monica Quimby Says She Felt Like She Was Flying « UroMed Catheter Health Blog

  2. Pingback: What kinds of careers are there involving current events? | Dating

  3. Bobbbi says:

    Me too. BUT I am 63, divorced for 10 yrs. I met a man through thr singles group I started a church (I said I will meet someone at church) he is from another church but a Christian just the same. He has a friend who also has MS and he goes to see him on occasion. He will carry me to the pool (to save time!) or lift my leg going up a stair. He will come to the house and grill, after clean up including dishes. We went on his boat one day and I really had to use the BR I tried but the cath would not go in due to the heat, I was in misery and couldn’t tell him why I couldn’t use the Gulf to pee in (too new in the relationship) after tat day I thought this is over he can’t be bothered with me but called the next day left me a message stating how brave I was to even go out in the heat and needing so badly to use a bathroom. Now we can laugh at it but through all that I would say he is a keeper, only hope it continues. Time will tell and God knows the desires of my heart.

  4. Pingback: Monica Quimby Says She Felt Like She Was Flying

Leave a Reply

